A Fight Worth Winning

Good news: if you hang with exercise long enough, you’ll see results. I said good news, not necessarily new. Old or new, that’s nice, isn’t it? Nothing is quite as rewarding as seeing your body or your strength change and improve after hours of hard work. Unless you’re talking about watching your favorite band perform live from the first row. Seriously, seeing how your body changes is a gorgeous thing. Over time, motivation keeps you moving.

That’s where I’m at this week with p90x. After six weeks, I’m feeling stronger. I still have to use the chair with the pull-up bar but I squeezed out one more rep with each segment – except Friday when I felt too tired to do the last set.

Something is happening with my core, too. My waist feels thicker, which is kind of disturbing, but as long as I’m not gaining or growing in inches, I’m not freaking out too much. My hips look smaller and I’m seeing contour there. So, ab-ripper x is working despite my hatred for it. I keep doing it because I know it’s going to tighten my tummy and give me the abs I want.

Most of my morning cardio this week was plyometrics. I’m just in love with that routine and I want to master it. I’m able to touch the floor on all the touch-the-floor moves and I can almost make it the whole 30 seconds… Almost, I get pooped sometimes, though. I tried Insanity one morning and as much as I want to like that routine, I don’t. Yet. Maybe after my performance improves, I might like it. Maybe not. Right now, I’m going to do what I like.

Six weeks into p90x. Not exactly instant gratification (but it is gratifying!). That’s the hurdle to jump with any goal. You’ve got to see each action or small step you make as part of a bigger picture. You’ve got to believe in the process and not throw in the towel. I had to get halfway through p90x to feel stronger and better. And I know for the results I want, I’m going to need to do it again. Because I know something better waits on the other side, I want to move forward.

Sometimes you need to feel like you’re fighting for it because you are. Remember it’s worth the fight. You deserve to feel the reward and reap the benefits of your hard work. Hang with it long enough and you’ll be glad. It’s like knowing spring will arrive after a long winter.

In honor of all things springy…from morning sweat to a sweet morning…

Spring-loaded rock star jumps.

A morning loaded with spring.

2 thoughts on “A Fight Worth Winning

Comments, suggestions? Let me know what you think.

