On Motivation

Here’s a fun fact: You’re not always going to feel like exercising. Motivation is hard to muster sometimes. Case in point: this morning I didn’t want to do my cardio at all. Let me clarify there was nothing wrong with me. I had no injuries, felt no pain and was not sick. I simply didn’t feel like exercising. Let me also clarify that I never wake up and immediately jump into exercising. Never. I need to wake up first. And even when I feel awake, I don’t usually jump into exercise.

Most days, I have to make myself exercise. Some days I feel more energetic than others but today wasn’t one of those days and I felt tired 25 minutes into my routine. That’s not good when you’re doing something like plyometrics. It seemed like I’d never find the energy to make it to the end but I pushed myself through it. It wasn’t the best workout but I showed up and that’s the key. Doing something is better than doing nothing. Feeling sluggish is not a reason to skip out on exercise. It might be the reason why you don’t jump as high as you normally would but the point is you’re still jumping. Realize you’re not as energetic as usual and ask yourself, “So what?” but don’t throw in the towel.

Exercise is like a positive addiction. It brings strength, pleasure and confidence to people. It’s a good addiction because it has value. I know this is true because I always feel better after exercising. Always. I also feel better about myself when I know I pushed myself to do something I didn’t especially want to do. I can almost guarantee that you will never regret working out (unless you injure yourself so, please, don’t injure yourself!).

Try thinking about this when you don’t feel like working out: your do-it-yourself tummy tuck! You’re on a journey that will take some time and if you miss this opportunity to exercise, you’re skipping out on an opportunity that will bring you one step closer to your goal. You’re also passing on an opportunity to feel great about something positive you’ve done for your body.

Remember, you’re in control. Make the effort, show up and you’ll be glad you did.

Got any tips on staying motivated? I’d love to hear them!

Comments, suggestions? Let me know what you think.

