Good Habits Lead to Results

Image

Ah, the lovely song of the alarm clock gently waking you… Okay, maybe not. Maybe it’s more like, the alarm is going off already? It’s a jolt and most often for me, an unwelcome one. But there it is, every morning. I always set my alarm early enough to work out regardless of when I need to wake up. Crazy? Maybe, maybe not. If it goes off fairly regularly, it turns into a routine and routines can be good things.

I’m a sucker for routine. I have a high tolerance for repetition and I love getting into a grove.

Exercise in the morning sets the tone for the rest of my day. When I get that early workout in, I feel as though I have a reason to make healthy choices for the rest of the day. Before the day gets started, I’ve already done something good for my body and that will help me stay on track (sometimes!). I’m far more likely to make healthy eating choices because I don’t want to blow those calories I burned earlier. The two actions go together. I cannot stress how important this is to me. Like I said, I’ve done it this way for years. It’s a good habit that helps me stay where I want to be.

I should add I’m not one that loves to exercise. That is, I don’t wake up just dying to do it. I make myself do it because I know I won’t regret working out and always regret not working out. I’ve done it long enough and I know myself well enough to know that getting up to work out before anything else works for me.

You may be thinking you’re not a morning person. To be honest, sometimes I don’t feel like a morning person because it takes me a long time to get around and finally get moving. For me, however, exercise far more likely to happen in the morning than it is in the afternoon. That’s my groove.

The key to success is finding your groove. You hear people say this all the time but you really have to make an effort. You may have to exercise before work for a few weeks and begin seeing results before you decide that it can work for you. That’s exactly how it happened for me. Once my body got used to the routine, it wasn’t such a mental battle to get up and get moving. But if the morning is out of the question, find that time of day where you can make that time for yourself and do it long enough to create a good habit. That means stick with it long enough to see results because once you see that trim tummy, you’re going to realize the power is yours. It always has been. That’s an awesome feeling!

What are some of your good habits?

 

 

Alarm Clock photo credit: Derek Jensen

Comments, suggestions? Let me know what you think.

